Prime Minister’s Council of Science Advisers Commissioned Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 29 April 2010 00:00

Belmopan, 28 April, 2010. 
The Office of the Prime Minister announces the formation and commissioning of the Prime Minister’s Council of Science Advisers to lead the way in formulating and implementing an effective strategy for Belize’s economic advancement through science, technology and innovation.

This comes out of a memorandum of understanding signed on March 29, 2010 between the Office of Prime Minister Hon. Dean Barrow and the Petters Research Institute. It is in keeping with the principle that a critical ingredient in economic advancement of developing nations is capacity in science and technology, a principle underscored by the findings of the 2005 United Nations Millennium Task Force.  
The Council is chaired by Doctor Arlie Petters of the Petters Research Institute. Other members include Doctor Bernard Bulwer, Director of Medical Services at Karl Heusner Memorial Hospital; Doctor Kenrick Leslie, Executive Director of the Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre headquartered in Belize; Doctors Samuel Malone, George McLendon, Jeremiah Ostriker and Rochelle Schwartz-Bloom, all American scientists and professors; and Ms. Nancy Zeleniak, an American Business Expert.

 In accordance with its mission statement, the Prime Minister’s Council of Science Advisers (PM-CSA) will directly advise the Prime Minister and his Cabinet on furthering Belize’s development through practical and environmentally sustainable applications of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) to create economic growth, strengthen education, enhance health, and fortify Belize’s national security.