NEBL All-Star Starters selected by fan votes Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 10 March 2016 00:00

The National Elite Basketball League (NEBL) will be hosting its second annual All-Star Night on Saturday, March 19 at the UB gymnasium in Belmopan City.  The activities will commence at 7 p.m. with the Wings Stop Skills Challenge, followed by its first ever VIP Wireless Celebrity Game. At 8:30 p.m. the Aguada Hotel Three Point Shootout will get underway, as a new champion will be crowned this year, given that Richard Troyer will not be defending his title.  In the All Star game, the North team will try to win its first game, as the South will be defending its crown.  The nightcap will witness the Slam Dunk Contest, as home town baller, Jarrel “Bird” Velasquez will be defending his title on his home court.

The All Star Game will see the North versus the South.  The North is comprised of players from Orange Walk Running Rebels, Belize City No Limit, Smart Belize Hurricanes and San Pedro Tiger Sharks.  The teams from the South are Cayo Western Ballaz, Belmopan Bandits, Dangriga Warriors and Independence Thunderbolt.  The starters were selected by popular fan vote, via Facebook likes. The starters for the North are Roger Reneau (Orange Walk Running Rebels), Ashton Edwards (San Pedro Tiger Sharks), Brian White (Smart Belize Hurricanes), Darwin “Puppy” Leslie (Smart Belize Hurricanes) and Gene Myvett (San Pedro Tiger Sharks).  They will do battle against the South Team, who will be comprised of Hyram Augustine (Independence Thunderbolts), Elvis Usher (Cayo Western Ballaz), James Ewing (Dangriga Warriors), Macario Augustine (Dangriga Warriors) and Kurt Burgess (Belmopan Bandits).  The remaining seven reserves will be selected by team managers, and the reserves will be announced this weekend.