Belmopan Bandits is Premier League of Belize Closing Season champions Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 18 May 2017 00:00

The Premier League of Belize 2016-2017 Closing Season Tournament came to an end on Saturday 13th May, 2017, at the Isidoro Beaton Stadium in Belmopan when the defending champions, the Belmopan Bandits blanked Verdes FC by the score of 1-0 to retain its billing as the top football team in the country.

The spectators that went to the stadium to support their team was treated to a real beauty as nobody gave up anything until the late in the second half of the game that the Belmopan Bandits’ Ian Gaynair was able to penetrate the defence of the Verdes FC to score the only goal of the game.

At the end of the game, Ian Gaynair was named the MVP, as he was the only player to have scored a goal in the championship series.

The President of the Premier League of Belize Ian Haylock presented the Belmopan Bandits with a cheque for $10,000.00 as the champions and one to Verdes FC for $5,000.00 as the sub-champions.

We say congratulations to the Belmopan Bandits.

Last Updated on Thursday, 18 May 2017 14:03