UDP 2017 Convention Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Friday, 01 September 2017 00:00

The much anticipated and talked about Belize City Mayoral and Councilor convention is history. On Sunday the 27th August, the United Democratic Party held it convention to select the men and women who will represent the party at the municipal level in next year’s City Council elections. The days leading up to the convention saw the candidates in full overdrive campaign mode.

Contesting for the top spot – the mayoral seat, were two veteran councilors with years of City Hall experience. Dion Leslie, the current Deputy Mayor and Phillip Willoughby vied for the opportunity to represent the UDP as the next Belize City Mayor of our fair city.

There were also sixteen entrants to fill ten posts for councilors. All quite competent and hardworking individuals. They were Hyacinth Latchman Cuellar, George Davis, Jason Edwards, Alifa Elrington, Judith Enriquez, Keera Ford, Dr. Alain Gonzalez, Leon Guild, Noreen Martinez, Victor Manuel, Bernard Q. Pitts, Dean Samuels, Kevin Singh, Mark Swift, Michael Theus and Phillip Willoughby.

The venue for this historic event was the ITVET compound and from the opening of the polls it became quite clear that the UDP City Convention which had been held there in the recent past has since outgrown this location. It was like a bazar, a sea of red, white and blue with people donning their party colors. Thousands of voters flocked the compound and it was an impressive sight to behold – people standing in seemingly unending lines for hours on end under the hot blazing sun to show their support for the UDP and their candidates of choice.

When the ballots were cast and counted and the results for Mayoral Candidate were made known at a little after nine. An impressive 5,594 persons voted, of these 3,073 voted for Dion Leslie making him the people’s choice to represent the UDP in the upcoming Municipal Elections.

The counting carried on well into Monday Morning and when the last ballot was counted at around 2:00 a.m. the announcement and swearing in of the successful candidates took place. Party chairman administered the oath and so concluded one of the most attended convention in recent history. There are two new comers to the slate in the persons of Judith Enriquez and Noreen Martinez, both quite popular and hard working women bringing the number of ladies in the slate to four. All the current Councilors made it on the slate with the exception of Michael Theus. To all of them we say CONGRATULATIONS!!!