Supreme Court Arbitrators called to office Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Friday, 06 October 2017 00:00

Belmopan. October 3, 2017.

On the 27th September 2017 trained Arbitrators were sworn in as Court-Connected Arbitrators under the Supreme Court of Belize before the Chief Justice, Honourable Kenneth Benjamin.

The Chairman of the Court’s Mediation and Arbitration program, Justice Abel Courtney, in addressing the Arbitrators emphasized the seriousness of the Oath. Justice Abel told the Arbitrators that it’s a serious responsibility and he hopes that they take it seriously. He added that the future reputation and conduct of the court and any arbitration proceedings is now in the hands of the Arbitrators.

Justice Abel accredited the birth of the program to the astute leadership of the Chief Justice. He informed that this Court-Connected Arbitration program is the first of its kind in the world and that Belize is privileged to take the lead as pioneers in this respect.

The Arbitrators were trained and certified by Dr. Christopher Malcolm, Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators and Chair of the Caribbean Branch and Shan Greer, Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators and Vice Chair of the Caribbean Branch. Justice Abel remarked that Arbitration training is ongoing and that there will be future refresher courses for the Arbitrators as well.

The Arbitrators will be guided by newly added Arbitration rules under Part 74 of the Civil Procedure Rules of Belize (CPR).

The Arbitrators are outstanding members of Belize’s society and persons of various professional disciplines in Belize. They were selected under a rigorous vetting process by the Court’s National Court Mediation/Arbitration Committee.

Below are the names of the trained Arbitrators:                                                    Aldo Reyes

Andrea McSweaney Mckoy

Ann Marie Smith

Ashanti Martin

Beatrice Garbutt

Cynthia Pitts

Cynthia Ellis Topsey

Danalyn Murillo

Dawn Sampson Nunez

Dean Molina

Delvitt Devon Collin Samuels

Deshawn Arzu

Donelle Hawke

Earl Jones

Emil Arguelles

Estevan Perrera

George Swift

Ion Cacho

Janell Villaneuva

Jeaneane Neal

Julie Ann Ellis Bradley

Kay Kaylene King

Leila Leslie

Liesje Chung

Magali Perdomo

Marissa Longsworth

Melissa Balderamos Mahler

Merlene Moody

Nelda Tulcey

Nigel Hawke

Nurul Islan Mukul

Randall Sheppard

Robertha Usher

Rodwell Williams

Shakira Oxley Tsai

Sharon Fraser

Thomas Morrison

Wendy Oxley

Yvonne Hartshorn