BTB holds 15th National Tourism Award Gala Event Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 26 October 2017 00:00

Belize City, Monday, October 23rd, 2017 - The Belize Tourism Board (BTB) held its highly anticipated 15th National Tourism Awards Gala Event on Saturday, October 21st at the Ramada Belize City Princess Hotel.   The event was well attended with guests coming from all regions of Belize. Distinguished guests included, Hon. Patrick Faber, Deputy Prime Minister, Hon. Manuel Heredia Jr., Minister of Tourism & Civil Aviation, and Mrs. Kim Simplis Barrow, Special Envoy for Women and Children, among others.    The 15th National Tourism Awards was an elegant celebration of the accomplishments made throughout the year by tourism partners and friends. The BTB is honoured to host such a significant event which gives recognition to Belize’s tourism stars in the areas of Frontine Personnel, Hospitality Award, Hotel of the Year, Small Accommodations of the Year, Tour Guide of the Year, Tour Operator of the Year, Restaurant of the Year, the Minister’s Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award. The nominees, through dedication to the industry, have contributed to the quality services offered throughout Belize.

The theme of the night was “Rainforest Meets Reef”, a setting that was most fitting for the tourism stars of Belize, which depicts the diversity of Belize’s tourism product.

This year’s winners are as follows: Leroy Welch of Las Terrazas Resort won Frontline Personnel of the year; Hospitality Award went to Ian Anderson’s Caves Branch on the Hummingbird Highway; Hotel of the Year: Grand Caribe in San Pedro; Small Accommodation of the Year: Caribbean Beach Cabanas in Placencia; Tour Guide of the Year went to Estevan Choco from The Lodge at Big Falls; Tour Operator of the Year went to Toledo Cave & Adventure Tours in Toledo and Restaurant of the Year went to Rumfish y Vino in Placencia.

In addition, the Minister’s Award went to Phillip “Billy” Leslie from San Pedro Ambergris Caye while the Lifetime Achievement Award went to John Michael “Mick” Fleming and Lucy Fleming of the Lodge at Chaa Creek.

The BTB would like to congratulate all the winners of the 15th National Tourism Awards as well as all nominees for the excellent work throughout the year!

Last Updated on Thursday, 26 October 2017 17:06