Giovanni Lovell is the 28th Krem New Year’s Day Cycling champion Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 04 January 2018 00:00

The Cycling Federation of Belize in collaboration with Krem Radio sponsored the 28th Edition of the Krem Radio New year’s Day Cycling Classic on Monday 1st January, 2018.

The event took place in four major categories which included the Elite and Masters, Female,  juniors riders and youth.

The elite and Master riders started the 96 miles event at the Belize-Mexico Border in Santa Elena, Corozal District, where some 68 cyclists started the now historic ride and of this amount only 36 completed the event.

At the end of some 3:31:07, it was Giovanni Lovell of Digicell 4G Elite Cycling Team, who was the first rider to cross the finish line to lay claims to the title.

Lovell was followed by American John Delong of Hearts Racing Team for second place. In a photo finish for third place, Robert Liam Stewart who is unattached edged out the National Road champion Nissan Arana of Westrac Alliance for third place. They were then followed by Donizetti Vasquez of Chetumal for fifth place.

The other top finishers in the Elite category included Quinton Hamilton of Card’s Heating AC and he was followed by Oscar Quiros Jr. of Smart/Cray/Western Spirit Cycling, and he was followed by Ernest Bradley of Digicell 4G Elite Cycling Team, and he was followed by Keion Robateau of Westrac Alliance and he was followed by Joshua Fuller of Smart/Cray/Western Spirit, these rounds off the top ten finishers in the Elite and Masters category.

Meanwhile, the female, junior and youth riders started their event in Orange Walk Town, where some 38 competitors took part.

In the female category, Alicia Thompson of Belize Bank Swoosh repeated as the Krem New Year’s Day Cycling Classic champion, when she completed the 52 miles course in a time of 2:43:30. Kaya Cattouse of C-Ray cycling Team took second place while Mexican Miguelina Lopez took third place in a time of 2:43:35.

The other finishers in the event included Taralee Ordonez from Kulture Megabytes and she was followed by Kaylynn Gillett of Belize Bank Swoosh and she was followed by Malika Nunez also of Belize Bank Swoosh.

In the Junior category, first place went to Shawn Armstrong Jr. who is unattached, and he completed the course in a time of 2:21:00. Second place went to Eric Heusner of Marie Sharp’s and he was followed by Shawn Codd of Michael Pate’s Depredadores in a time of 2:23:11 and he was followed by Wilhelm Coye unattached and he was followed by Gian Lino of Westrac Alliance in a time of 2:23:11.