Earl Trapp sworn in for second term as PM visits Santa Elena Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 15 March 2018 00:00

“ from you hit the outskirts of Santa Elena, you see the transformation, da like wah new and eternal Jerusalem has been  created right here in the Twin Towns, all due to the miracle of transformation that Mayor Trapp and the UDP Town Council have wrought here in the Twin Towns.” Hon. Dean Barrow

A continuous wave of red, composed of United Democratic Party supporters, seemed to have eclipsed the banks of the Macal River in Santa Elena Town on Sunday, five days after the historic win of the full San Ignacio and Santa Elena Town Council at the municipal elections. Special guest for the occasion was the UDP Party Leader the Rt. Hon. Dean Barrow, who in a 19 minute and 16 second presentation congratulated the Twin Towns of San Ignacio and Santa Elena  for having had an unprecedented achievement in the annals of municipal governance “…to have entered into the record books.”

The Hon. Dean Barrow noted that in this most recent victory, the Area Representatives such as the Hon. Rene Montero for Cayo Central, Dr. Omar Figueroa for Cayo North  and caretaker John August for Cayo North East had played a critical role.

However; Hon. Barrow also attributed the winning “…to the fantastic work that Mayor Earl Trapp and the UDP Town Council of San Ignacio and Santa Elena has done.”

Fittingly, the Prime Minister also said that while he will no longer be leader of the UDP into the next election, “…our great party will win a fourth successful terms as National Government…”

As the Prime Minister had made his entrance by the Macal River, UDP Party Chairman Alberto August also noted that Mayor Earl Trapp Junior had been elected to the San Ignacio and Santa Elena Town Council as councilor in 2003, and at the end of his current term as Mayor would be serving the Twin Towns of San Ignacio and Santa Elena for 18 years.

In San Ignacio and Santa Elena, the UDP had secured 60% of the vote share in the municipal elections while Mayor Earl Trapp maintained 64% of the Mayoral votes. More precisely Mayor Trapp received 4,645 votes while PUP’s Marconi Matus got 2,646 votes. A most “perennial” Bernadette Fernandez, also topped the polls for the Twin Towns with 4,732 votes.

In his victory speech on Sunday, Mayor Earl Trapp thanked the Prime Minister the Hon. Dean Barrow for his unwavering support over the past years. He also expressed being grateful to everyone for last Wednesday’s overwhelming victory.

In a short ceremony on Sunday, all councilors of the San Ignacio and Santa Elena Town Board were also sworn in. The re-elected councilors, namely George Boiton, Berenadette Fernandez, Shary Medina, Jeaneane Neal, Mark O´ Brien, Nick Singh as well as Mayor Earl Trapp took the oath of office, in the presence of Norberta Pulido, Senior Justice of the Peace and Member of the British Empire.