Kaya Cattouse New Female Cross Country Champion Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 17 May 2012 00:00

Kaya Cattouse, 2012 Women’s Cross CountryThe Belize Cycling Association sponsored its 23rd Annual Women’s Cross Country Classic on Sunday May 13, 2012, Mother’s Day.

The 69-miles-event which started from in front of Columbus Park in San Ignacio Town to Mile 2 on the Western Highway, attracted 6 female riders.

At the conclusion of the race, it was Kaya Cattouse of C-Ray Cycling Team that outsprinted 3-times champion Shalini Zabaneh of Team Sagitun to capture her first female Cross Country title. Cattouse completed the ride in a time of 4:29:00. 

Shalini Zabaneh, who lost her bid for a 4-peat had to settle for the bridesmaid spot this time around. The third rider to cross the finish line was Marinette Flowers, who is unattached followed by Patricia Chavarria of AAA Loans Cycling Team, and she was followed by Kirah Eiley of C-Ray Cycling to round off the top five finishers.

The other finisher was Iris Centeno of Team Sagitun.

We say congratulations to Kaya Cattouse.