Placencia Assassins National Football Champions of Belize Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 17 May 2012 00:00

Placencia Assassins Premier League of Belize 2012 ChampionsThe first ever Premier League of Belize Football Competition is now history. The second and final game of the championship series was played on Saturday May 12, 2012 at the Football Federation of Belize Stadium in the City of Belmopan between the previously unbeaten Police United and the Placencia Assassins.

The Placencia Assassins went into the second and final game as the favourite to win the championship as it had beaten Police United a week earlier by the score of 2-1 out at the Michael Ashcroft Stadium in Independence Village. In reality, all that the budding champion really needed was a draw against the Police United, while the Police United squad needed to win the match by 3 goals.

And so it was to be that the Placencia Assassins was crowned the National Football Champions of Belize with a 3-2 aggregate score over the Police United.

In the game played, the visiting Placencia Assassins were the first to get on the scoreboard when Elias Donaire scored his team’s only goal of the game in the 12th minute of play for an early 1-0 lead. For all intents and purposes, it seemed that the Placencia Assassins would have won the game by the score of 1-0. The Placencia Assassins defence was able to protect the slim lead well into the closing minute of the game before the Police United was able to penetrate its defence.

It was not until injury time that the Police United was able to get on the board when Evan Mariano scored the equalizing goal in the 92nd minute of the game. However, that was not enough for the Police United to secure the championship title. And at the sound of the long whistle it was indeed a 3-2 victory for the Placencia Assassins.

Dalton Eiley, the team captain for the newly crowned National Football Champions of Belize was named the Finals Most Valuable Player.

The championship’s individual medals, trophy and a cheque for $25,000.00 was underwritten by the Hon. Herman Longsworth, the Minister of State in the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports and with direct responsibilities for youth and sports, who also presented the awards.