Interoffice Basketball Competition opens at Bird’s Isle Print E-mail
( 1 Vote )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 31 May 2012 00:00

Jamal Kelly scored 15 points for Tuff e Nuff against CYDPThe 2012 Interoffice Basketball League Competition opened on Friday May 25, 2012, at the Bird’s Isle in Belize City. This year’s competition is featuring a total of 10 teams. The teams are Alamilla’s Furniture, Belize Telemedia Ltd., Caye Caulker, Conscious Youth Development Programme (CYDP), Kolbe Foundation, Quan’s Trading/Kephawn’s Pawn Shop, Maria Chang, Police Department, Tuff e Nuff Tours and Youth for the Future (YFF).

The regular season will end on Sunday June 24, with the Playoffs commencing on Friday June 29 and concluding on Friday July 27.

On Sunday May 27, in the first game played Tuff e Nuff Tours defeated CYDP by the score of 75-68. The top scorers for Tuff e Nuff Tours were Jamal Kelly with 15 points, 2 rebounds and 5 assists; Tyron Edwards with 10 points, 4 rebounds, 3 assists and 2 steals; and Dwayne Davis, who also scored 10 points and 6 rebounds. For CYDP, the top scorers were Bernard Felix with 23 points, 4 rebounds, 1 assist and 4 steals, and Marcel Orosco with 18 points, 10 rebounds, and 1 steal.

In game two, BTL blasted Kolbe by the score of 61-32.  The top scorers for BTL were Ashley Hemsley with 11 points, 2 rebounds and 3 steals, and Lennox Cayetano with 9 points, 5 rebounds and 2 assists. The top scorers for Kolbe were Lester Cadle with 12 points, 6 rebounds and 3 steals, and Derol Vernon 6 points.

In the final game of the day, Police edged Maria Chang by the score of 53-49.  The top scorers for the Police were Chester Noralez with 14 points, 10 rebounds, and 3 steals, and Orlando Bowen with 9 points and 4 rebounds.

For Maria Chang, the top scorers were Winston Pratt with 17 points, 16 rebounds, 2 assists and 4 steals, and Andrew Staine with 10 points, 2 rebounds and 3 assists.

The competition then continued on Saturday May 26 with two more games. In game one, CYDP defeated the Police by the score of 69-52.  The top scorer for CYDP was Lennox Bowman with 25 points, 6 rebounds, 2 assists and 4 steals, and the top scorers for the Police were Chester Noralez with 14 points, 4 rebounds, and 5 assists, and Maurice Martinez with 10 points, 3 rebounds, and 6 assists.

In game two, Youth for the Future defeated Kolbe by the score of 64-50. The top scorers for Youth for the Future were Fenton Noralez with 12 points, Kenroy Usher with 10 points and Jamir Enriquez with 8 points. For Kolbe, the top scorers were Juvencio Serano with 16 points, Lester Cadle with 14 points and Raphael O’Brien with 8 points.

On Friday May 25, in the first game of the competition, Tuff e Nuff edged Alamilla’s by the score of 53-51. The top scorers for Tuff e Nuff were Tyron Edwards with 11 points, 3 rebounds, and 4 assists, and Jamal Kelly and Stephen Williams with 9 points each.
For Alamilla, the top scorers were Greg Rudon with 12 points, 3 rebounds, 3 assists, and 2 steals, and Kurt Burgess with 10 points, 4 rebounds and 3 steals.

In the final game of the night, Maria Chang defeated BTL by the score of 72-66. The top scorers for Maria Chang were Ronald Rivers with 24 points and 4 rebounds and Andrew Staine with 18 points, and 11 rebounds.