Vega’s Cup Tournament 2012 opens Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 09 August 2012 00:00

The 2012 Vega’s Cup Tournament, which is sponsored by the Hon. Gaspar Vega Deputy Prime Minister of Belize and the Orange Walk North Representative opened on Sunday, August 5th with the Marathon Competition out in Santa Cruz Village.

The Marathon competition was declared opened by the Hon. Gaspar Vega, who gave all the teams participating in the competition 2 footballs. This year’s competition will feature 16 teams including: Santa Cruz FC (defending champion), Old School FC, San Antonio Jaguars, Otro Benque, New River Dynamites, Barrio Boyz, Blackwater FC, Untouchables FC, Athletics FC, San Roman FC, San Luis FC, San Jose Pumas, San Jose Survivors, San Pable FC, San Juan FC and Douglas FC.

Meanwhile, the 2012 Marathon competition was captured by Old School FC while the host village Santa Cruz FC placed second. At the end of the Marathon Competition, both teams received a team trophy; while Old School FC was given back $150.00 from its registration fee while Santa Cruz FC received $100.00 from its registration fee.

The regular competition is scheduled to commence on Sunday, August 12th, at the Trial Farm Football Field. At the end of the competition, the champion will receive $3,000.00, a team trophy plus each player will receive individual trophies. The 2nd place team will receive $2,000.00, a team trophy and each player will receive individual trophies, the 3rd place team will receive $1,000.00, a team trophy and individual players’ trophies, while the 4th place team will receive $500.00 and a team trophy.

The Organising Committee will also award the Best Scorer, Best Goalkeeper, MVP and Most Disciplined Team at the end of the season.