UDP Reorganizing Constituency Executive Committees Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by The Guardian   
Thursday, 04 October 2012 00:00

Executive CommitteeThe United Democratic Party continues on its efforts to ensure that constituency executives are in place and particular focus is being placed on constituencies, which the party was unable to secure in the last general elections.

Over the past weekend, three divisions held elections. On Saturday, September 29th, elections were held for executive members of the Orange Walk Central constituency. The event took place at the Gala Lounge in Orange Walk where some 200 constituents attended. The meeting was presided over by Chairman of the UDP, Hon. Patrick Faber. Also in attendance were Caretaker, Denny Grijalva;Vice-Chairman Roosevelt Blades; and the National Party Coordinator, Ruben Campos.

During the meeting Hon. Faber, gave an address, in which he invited everyone to be proud of their United Democratic Party for all the achievements that it has accomplished and in particular for the government's support for the Sugar Industry, where the livelihood of everyone is positively impacted. He also encouraged unity and hard work of the good UDP people of the Orange Walk Central Division.
The Party Chairman, then swore in the new executive members, who include Chairperson, Jaime Burns and Members: Lilia Galvez,Victor Vargas, Elodio Aragon,William Herman Meza, Phillip De La Fuente, George Castillo, Miguel Urbina, Francine Burns, Myra Moreno, Fiona Liu, Elizabeth Chin, Liliana Osorio, Rosendo Vega, Addy Torres.  Alternates elected were: Ada Rodas, Julina Patt, Nelita Sambula, Egidio Duran and Victor Munoz

On Sunday, September 30th, the Corozal Southwest Division election was held in Libertad Village. The new Executive is now composed by the Chairperson Oder Bautista; and members Bernaldino Cowo, Alfredo Ek, Filiberto Teck Raul Montejo, Marisol Cowo Flores Karla Bacab, Elizabeth Torres, Melanie Quetzal, Glenford Torres, Armando Coba, Harvey Logan, Concepcion Cob, Victor Pena, and Daniel Chable. Alternates are Romel Ek, Teodoro Castaneda, Jean Soberanis, Vladimir Puck, and Rosendo Cantun.

During the meeting, the Chairman encouraged those gathered to remain united and to work together for a better Corozal Southwest with the UDP. He said it was a time of bringing UDP’s back home and having respect for one another and working to ensure a UDP victory when elections are called. He also expressed great satisfaction over the fact that some members who had broken away from the UDP in that constituency are now returning back to the UDP.

Present at the meeting were Adolfo Patt, the Divisional  Caretaker; Roosevelt Blades, the Party Vice-Chairman, and Ruben Campos, National Coordinator.

The third elections were held for the Stann Creek West executive at the Sitee River Marina in Hopkins village. Elected to serve were Norman Castillo as the Chairman, and members Winston Taylor, Alberto Logan, Camilo Kal, Joan Wright, Albert Leslie, Marie Longsworth, Glenn Eiley, Enrique Martinez, Eugenio Shal, Viviano Teul, Daniel Arzu, Russel Nunez, Enfield Andrews and Crispino Sho. Elected as alternates were Ewart Murillo, Dolores Sho, Andrew Tush, Antonio Salas, and Juan Chub.

Elections are now scheduled for the Toledo West Executive, which will take place in Colombia village on Saturday, October 6th and in the Toledo East constituency at the Punta Gorda Civic Center on Sunday, October 7th.