Albert and Rural Central select Committees Print E-mail
( 2 Votes )
Written by The Guardian   
Thursday, 15 November 2012 00:00

New Executive CommitteesOn Sunday, November 11th, the United Democratic Party held an endorsement convention at the UDP headquarters, where a new Executive Committee was named for the Albert Division. The meeting was attended by UDP representative in Albert, Hon. Herman Longsworth; Party Chairman, Hon. Patrick Faber; Secretary General, Philipa Griffith-Bailey, Deputy Chairman Roosevelt Blades; and National Party Coordinator, Ruben Campos.

During the meeting Hon. Longsworth thanked those who attended for their continued support of the UDP and urged those who form the committee to work for another victory of the UDP when general elections are called. He explained that the Albert Division is now back with the UDP and it should stay that way. For his part, Hon. Faber stated the importance of the constituency committees as the members are the face of the party in the divisions and, that they are the ones to do the work in the division. He said that the UDP is already starting to work to ensure a third consecutive victory.  He added that victories are had because of constituency organization and that there is no reason why the UDP should not continue to win elections.   

After the addresses, Santiago Zaiden was endorsed as the chairperson with members being Marcia Bailey, Stanley Moody, Gwen Gentle, Sharon Neal, Gilda Brannon, Julia Bailey, Kumar Cocom, Ashley Longsworth, Sheriee Reneau, Trecia Reneau, Berta Heusner,  Vanessa Reyes, Sandra Zaiden and Theola Perto. Alternates are Nelson Young,  Kiran Vanjani, Sharon Sanchez, Wilmore Staine,  Norma Pitts.

Also holding endorsements on Saturday, November 10th, was the Belize Rural Central UDP Division. The meeting was held at the Ladyville Community center.

Addressing the gathering was the Party Chairman, Hon. Patrick Faber, who spoke about the need for unity in the great UDP and the need to have a vibrant and exciting executive, who will work along with the caretaker and also advise the caretaker on issues related to the division and the Party.

He also spoke about the great leadership of the Hon. Dean Barrow. He ended his address, stressing that we must all be proud to be members of our great UDP party.

Also addressing the gathering was the caretaker, Michael Hutchinson, who said that he would be working closely with the executive committee, to once again bring a UDP seat to the Belize Rural Central Division. Also present at the Ceremonies was the Secretary General, Phillipa Bailey and the National Coordinator, Ruben Campos.

During the meeting Andrew Baird was sworn in as the chairperson while Jefferson Flowers, Denise Young, Elodia Peyrefitte, Janise Savery, Michael Ortiz, Amanda Benavidez, Barbara Zuniga, Eva Flores, Terrence Casasola, Edmund Robateau, Lenard Daviz, Brenda Ramos, Shakira White, and Katherine Dawson were sworn in as members. Alternates selected were Shana Lamb, Milhem Gonzalez, Raymond Usher, Miguel Mestizo and Emily Gabourel.