San Antonio FC Interdistrict Football Champions Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 20 December 2012 00:00

The Football Federation of Belize 2012 Interdistrict Football Competition came to an end on Sunday, December 16th out at the Ricalde Stadium in Corozal Town between San Antonio FC and Benguche FC from the Stann Creek District.

In the 2nd and final game of the championship series, the home team San Antonio FC defeated Benguche FC by the score of 3-1. The goals for San Antonio FC were scored by Russell Cassanova in the 21st and 90th minute of the game and Eaveral Bodden in the 60th minute of play. Meanwhile, the goal for Benguche FC was scored by Shanti Castillo in the 58th minute of play.

However, because of San Antonio’s win over Benguche FC during regulation time, the game then had to go into overtime, to determine a victor. At the end of overtime the game remained scoreless which then lead to the penalty kicks.

It was in the penalty kicks period that the San Antonio FC was able to score 4 goals to Benguche’s 1 goal, which then decided the championship. The goals for San Antonio FC were scored by Johann Clavel, Russell Cassanova, Darnell Mossiah and Christian Pena, while the goal for Benguche FC was scored by Kenton Flores.

At the end of the championship, the following received the 2012 Individual awards: Most Goals - Darwaine Castillo (Benguche FC), Best Forward - Russell Cassanova (San Antonio FC), Best Midfielder – Christian Pena (San Antonio FC), Best Defender – Freddy De La Rosa (Benguche FC), Best Goalkeeper – Darren Hinds (Independence Scorpions), Most Valuable Player – Russell Cassanova (San Antonio FC), Manager – Beauty Daniels of San Antonio FC, and Coach – Stanley Murillo (Benguche FC).