Byron Pope captures 8th Pablo Marin Cycling Classic Print E-mail
( 1 Vote )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 09 May 2013 00:00

Hon. Pablo Marin and top three finishersThe 8th annual Pablo Marin Cycling Classic was held on Wednesday May 1st, 2013, in Corozal Town.

The elite riders started from Miami Beach in Corozal Town to the Belize-Mexico border then onto Orange Walk Town around the Caribbean Tyres Round-about and the back to Miami Beach for a total distance of 86 miles. At the end of the journey, it was Byron Pope of Benny’s Megabytes, who was the first rider to cross the finish line in a time of 3:33:29 to capture first place. The second rider to cross the finish line was Johnnie Quintal, who is unattached, and he was followed by Gregory Lovell of Telemedia, who finished third.  He was followed by Allen Castillo of Benny’s Megabytes who finished fourth and then Nissan Arana, who is unattached, finished fifth to round off the top five finishers.

The other finishers in the elite competition were Juan Manuel Yapur, who is unattached; Mark Staine of Benny’s Megabytes; Henry Moreria, unattached; Brandon Cattouse of C-Ray; and Peter Choto of Belikin Western Spirit.

In the Masters 35+ category, 1st place went to Juan Manuel Yapur, who is unattached, while second place went to Luigi Urbina of C-Ray.

The female riders along with the junior riders’ events started at Miami Beach in Corozal Town to San Pablo Village and then back to Miami Beach for the finish.

At the conclusion of the female race, it was Kaya Cattouse of Smart C-Ray, who finished first in a time of 2:18:30. Second place went to her teammate Marinette Flowers and third place went to Gina Lovell of Telemedia.

In the junior category, first place went to Delon Gentle of BECOL Uprising, who finished the 46-mile event in a time of 2:03:16, and he was followed by Giovanni Lovell of Telemedia. Thid place went to Brandon Morgan of Benny’s Megabytes.

In the U-23 race, first place went to Johnnie Quintal, unattached, in a time of 3:35:59.