Baden pink balls for the XXIII National Women’s Softball Championship Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by The Guardian   
Thursday, 29 August 2013 00:00

The Belize Softball Federation will play host to the XXIII Edition of the National Women’s Softball Championship which is scheduled for Friday, August 30 – September 1, 2013, at Rogers Stadium the home of softball in Belize.

As the premier female sports in the country, the Belize Softball Federation has dedicated this year’s National Women’s Softball Championship to the survivors of cancer especially breast cancer. The Baden’s balls that will be used in the championship are pink in colour and carry the logo of the Cancer Awareness Foundation.

The ceremonial first pitch will be a dual pitch, the first time that this will be done in the country and this honours will be given to Mrs. Philippa Griffith-Bailey, ISF Hall of Fame Member, immediate past Treasurer of the Belize Softball Federation, the only Women in Sports Commissioner in the country and she will be joined by a representative of the Cancer Society.

This year’s XXIII National Softball Championship will see the participation of BTL and Frecsa from the Belize City Association, Camalote Blazers and Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy from the Cayo District Association, Easy Does It from Flowers Bank and Double Head Cabbage from Belize Rural Association and Golden Strikers from San Narisico  and Xaibe Killer Bees from the Corozal Association.

The XXIII National Women’s Championship will commence on Friday, August 30 at 6:30 pm with two games on the schedule. In the first game it will be Fresca of Belize City against “Easy Does It” Flowers Bank and in game two it will be Camalote Blazers against Roaring Creek Grace Kennedy. The competition will resume on Saturday, August 31 at 9:00 am with game one between San Narisico from Corozal and BTL the defending national champions, followed by the game between Double Head Cabbage and the sub-champion from Corozal.

A total of eight (8) games will be played on Saturday, August 31 and the remaining 5 games will be played on Sunday, September 1, when a national champion will be crowned.