Guardian Bombers - Belize City Senior Male Softball Champs Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 30 January 2014 00:00

guardian bombers.jpg - 81.28 KbThe Belize City Softball Association 2013 Senior Male Competition finally came to an end on Wednesday January 22, 2014, at Rogers Stadium, after the championship series had to be postponed because of the wet conditions of the playing field.

In the third and final game of the championship series, the budding champions Guardian Bombers wasted no time in establishing its supremacy in the game and the outcome of the title when third base Nelberth Flowers with only one out in the top of the first inning blasted a three run homer-run off Oceana Strikers starting and losing pitcher Jerome Carr for a 3-0 lead.

The Guardian Bombers then added five more runs in the top of the 2nd inning when it send 9 batters to the plate  who collected an assortment of hits including shortstop Carlyon Flores’  2 run double.
In the top of the third inning Guardian Bombers continued on its scoring path when it scored 2 more runs and then scored a single in the top of the 4th inning for the 11-3 victory.
Meanwhile, Oceana Strikers scored single runs in the bottom of the 1st inning, 2nd inning and the 3rd inning.

On the line it was 11 runs on 11 hits for the Guardian Bombers while Oceana Strikers scored 3 runs on 3 hits. The winning pitcher was Milton Flores who struck out 4 batters.

At the end of the championship game the Belize City Softball Association presented trophies to the champions and the sub-champions as well as to the individual awards winners.

The following players captured the following individual awards: Batting Average – Marconi Leal (Oceana Strikers = .535), Most RBI’s – Marconi Leal – (Oceana Strikers = 21), Most Home Runs – Milton Flores (Guardian Bombers) and Carlyon Flores (Guardian Bombers) =4), Most Stolen Bases – Carlyon Flores (Guardian Bombers = 5), Winningest Pitcher – Milton Flores (Guardian Bombers = 6-1), Most Strike Outs – Jason Belisle (Dantos) 42), Rookie of the Year – Conrad Gonzalez and the Most Valuable Player – Milton Flores (Guardian Bombers).

Last Updated on Thursday, 30 January 2014 10:56