Belmopan Bandits National Football Champions Print E-mail
( 1 Vote )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 13 February 2014 00:00

bandits in the huddle.jpg - 71.20 KbThe Premier League of Belize Belikin Cup 2013 Opening Season came to an end on Saturday February 8, 2014 at the FFB Stadium in Belmopan where the second and final game in the championship series between the Belmopan Bandits and FC Belize where the Bandits handed FC Belize a 5-1 defeat to regain the National Championship.

The home team Belmopan Bandits were the first to get unto the scoreboard when Deon McCaulay scored the 1st of his 4 goals in the 37th minute of play to give his team a 1-0 lead. However, that lead was short lived as Mark “Kello” Leslie scored the equalising goal for FC Belize in the 39th minute of play to tie the score at 1-1.

The Belmopan Bandits on the offence was able to untie the score in the closing minutes of the first half of the game when Denmark Casey Jr. scored his team’s 2nd goal of the game in the 45th minute of play for a 2-1 lead.

It was in the second half of the game that the defence for FC Belize fell down and the budding champions the Belmopan Bandits wasted no time in crushing the visiting FC Belize. Deon McCaulay who was named the Playoffs Most Valuable Player when on a rampage and single handily determined the outcome of the championship when he scored goals in the 67th minute, 69th minute and 71st minute of play for the impressive 5-1 victory and the national title.

At the end of the championship, the following players were named the winners of the individual awards. Best Goalkeeper Award went to Benito Moreira of Verdes FC; Most Goal Scorer Clifton West of Police United; Best Defender Vallan Symns of the Belize Defence Force; Best Forward Clifton West of Police United; Best Midfielder Orlando Jimenez  of Verdes FC; MVP (Regular Season) Franz Vernon of Paradise Freedom Fighters; Best Coach Pablo Cacho of Verdes FC; Best Manager Lionel Cuthkelvin of the Belize Defence Force and Eric Vasquez of Verdes FC, MVP (Playoffs) Deon McCaulay of Belmopan Bandits and Most Entertaining Fan Aaron Gamboa of Police United.

We say congratulations to the Belmopan Bandits and all the individual awards winners.

Last Updated on Thursday, 13 February 2014 16:08