Sagitun leads FFB President’s Cup Tournament Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 19 June 2014 00:00

The FFB President’s Cup Tournament continued over the last weekend with a number of games across the country.

On Sunday June 15, at the Toledo Union Field in Punta Gorda Town, Estrellas FC and Progresso FC played to a 1-1 draw. The goal for Estrellas was scored by Sony Wade in the 47th minute of play, while the goal for Progresso FC was scored by Aduan Usher in the 70th minute of play.

On Saturday June 14, at the Isidoro Beaton Stadium in Belmopan, the visiting San Antonio FC and the host team Roaring Creek United to a 0-0 draw.

In the game played out at the Carl Ramos Stadium in Dangriga Town, Benque D.C. United edged out Pomona United by the score of 3-2. The goals for Benque D.C. United were scored by Auner Cariass in the 51st minute of play, Victor Tut in the 87th minute of play and Owen Nunez an own goal in the 69th minute of play. For Pomona United, the goals were scored by Elias Pelayo in the 75th minute of play and Otis Smith in the 77th minute of play.

And in the final game played out at the Michael Ashcroft Stadium in Independence Village, Sagitun defeated Belize District Stars by the score of 4-1. The goals for Sagitun were scored by Myron Cadle in the 38th minute of play, Ashley Torres in the 66th and 72nd minute of play and Wilbert Rivas in the 83rd minute of play. For the Belize District Stars, the only goal of the game was scored by Jason Young in the 46th plus minutes of the game.

The competition will continue on Sunday June 22, 2014, with four games on the schedule. In the first game scheduled for 3:30 pm out at the Louisiana Football Field in Orange Walk Town, it will be Pomona United against Progresso FC. In the second game at the Norman Broaster Stadium in San Ignacio Town also at 3:30 pm, Roaring Creek United against Benque DC United. In the third game of the day also at 3:30 pm at the Ricalde Stadium in Corozal Town, Sagitun FC will see action against San Antonio FC and in the final game at 4:00 pm it will be Belize District Stars against Estrellas FC.