Happy 14th Anniversary UB! Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by The Guardian   
Thursday, 07 August 2014 15:09

Today the University of Belize celebrates its 14th Anniversary as the national university of Belize. The University is proud to continue molding the minds of students while giving them the training needed to empower the nation.

On August 1, 2000, the University of Belize (UB) was created from a merger of five institutions: the University College of Belize (UCB), the Belize Technical College (BTC), the Belize Teachers’ Training College (BTTC), the Belize School of Nursing (BSN), and the Belize College of Agriculture (BCA). UCB, BTC and BTTC were under the supervision of the Ministry of Education (MOE); BSN was under the supervision of the Ministry of Health (MOH); and BCA was under the supervision of the Ministry of Agriculture (MOA).

In 2004, the main campus was officially moved to Belmopan City. UB now offers programs from its main campus in Belmopan, and from three other locations: Belize City campus, Central Farm campus, and from its southern campus in Punta Gorda. UB also owns and manages two marine field stations at Calabash and Hunting Caye. 

The University wishes to thank the people and Government of Belize for their continuing support.