The Football Federation of Belize President’s Cup Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 21 August 2014 00:00

Tournament entered its semi-final round on Saturday August 16, at the People’s Stadium in Orange Walk Town between San Antonio FC and Progresso FC.

In the game played, San Antonio FC edged out the host team Progresso FC by the score of 2-1. Progresso FC took an early 1-0 lead in the game when Gabriel Perez scored his team’s only goal of the game in the 10th minute of play. The first half of the game ended 1-0 in favour of the host team Progresso FC.

It was not until in the second half of the game that the San Antonio FC was able to penetrate the Progresso’s defence when Darnell Mossiah scored his team’s 1st goal of the game in the 56th minute of play via a penalty kick to tie the score at 1-1.

The tie was then unbroken for go when San Antonio’s Ian Daniels scored his team 2nd and final goal of the game in the 88th minute of play for the 2-1 victory.

Meanwhile, on Sunday August 17, at the Isidoro Beaton Stadium in Belmopan, the visiting Sagitun defeated Roaring Creek United by the score of 3-0. The goals for Sagitun were scored by Wilbert Rivas in the 17th minute of play, Dellon Torres in the 30th minute of play and Ashley Torres in the 34th minute of play.

The semi-final round will continue this coming weekend with two more games on the schedule. On Saturday August 23, at 7:30 pm at the Michael Ashcroft Stadium in Independence Village, it will be Roaring Creek United against Sagitun and then on Sunday August 24, at 3:30 pm at the Ricalde Stadium in Corozal Town between Progresso FC against the San Antonio FC.