Territorial Dispute Referendum Bill passed Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 18 April 2019 00:00

On Monday, 15 April 2019, the Senate passed the TERRITORIAL DISPUTE REFERENDUM BILL, 2019. The bill was drafted to create an Act to provide for a referendum to be held in which any legal claim to land and insular territory be submitted to the International Court of Justice for final settlement and for the ICJ to determine boundaries. The motion was carried by a vote of 8 Yes, four No’s and one abstention.

A division of the senate was called for and the voting went as follows:-

Leader of Government Business, Godwin Hulse-Yes

UDP Senator Carla Barnett-Yes

UDP Senator Michael Peyrefitte-Yes

UDP Senator Herbert Panton-Yes

UDP Senator Macario Coy-Yes

UDP Senator Steve Duncan-Yes

PUP Senator Eamon Courtenay-No

PUP Senator Valerie woods-Abstained

PUP Senator Paul Thompson-No

Business Senator Markhelm Lizarraga-No

Church Senator Ashley Rocke-Yes

Union Senator Elena Smith-No

NGO Senator Osmany Salas-Yes.


Page 7 of 13