Belmopan Bandits is Premier League of Belize Closing Season champions Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 18 May 2017 00:00

The Premier League of Belize 2016-2017 Closing Season Tournament came to an end on Saturday 13th May, 2017, at the Isidoro Beaton Stadium in Belmopan when the defending champions, the Belmopan Bandits blanked Verdes FC by the score of 1-0 to retain its billing as the top football team in the country.

The spectators that went to the stadium to support their team was treated to a real beauty as nobody gave up anything until the late in the second half of the game that the Belmopan Bandits’ Ian Gaynair was able to penetrate the defence of the Verdes FC to score the only goal of the game.

At the end of the game, Ian Gaynair was named the MVP, as he was the only player to have scored a goal in the championship series.

The President of the Premier League of Belize Ian Haylock presented the Belmopan Bandits with a cheque for $10,000.00 as the champions and one to Verdes FC for $5,000.00 as the sub-champions.

We say congratulations to the Belmopan Bandits.

Last Updated on Thursday, 18 May 2017 14:03
Football Federation of Belize Elections Nominations close Print E-mail
( 0 Votes )
Written by Administrator   
Thursday, 18 May 2017 00:00

The Football Federation of Belize announced that with the unset of the FFB executive elections, the nomination period closed. The nomination period allows an individual to submit his or her documents after being nominated by a district association chairman and seconded by another.

Monday 15th May, 2017 was set as the deadline for those who wished to contest the two remaining executive positions of President and Vice President on the FFB Executive Body during the 10th Ordinary Congress set for Saturday, June 24th, 2017. Those who have submitted their names will be vetted before any official information is released from the FFB.

On April 30th, 2016, The Football Federation of Belize elected a new Executive Body during its 9th Ordinary Congress. Those elected to executive posts were Marlon Kuylen as Sr. Vice President, Shane Orio and Darlene Vernon as Executive members.

Following 22 rounds of voting which resulted in a tie each time, a new president and vice president for the FFB could not be elected. Having been unable to break the tie, the FFB invited CONCACAF and UNCAF representatives held consultations with FIFA, after which the Senior Vice President Marlon Kuylen was selected as Acting President of the FFB for one year. Executive members, Shane Orio and Darlene Vernon were selected as Acting Sr. Vice President and Vice President respectively.

Official information as per FFB electoral code will be announced 15 days before the date of the election.


Page 1 of 2